Tuesday, 13 November 2018

On the road (probably on the path a bit too, then ending up in a ditch)

Friday 16th November. 6pm-close at the Pint Shop, Cambridge


Both of us. 

Why they punish themselves I don't know, but God willing, we'll put on a show of one kind or another.

Saturday, 10 November 2018

Toucan Dispenser

The Restless Funk Radio Show 08/11/2018
Ramellzee & K-Rob - Beat Bop (Instrumental)
Sounds of JHS 126 Brooklyn - Chill Pill
White Light Circus - The Shot
Boys from Patagonia - Rimini 80
The Revolutionaries - Afro Rock
Adu - Tachiwa
Wareika Hill Sounds - One People Version
TNT Roots - Chant Down Babylon Verse 2 (Gast Version)
Joy Orbison & Boddika - In Here
Charles Manier - Waiting For Electrocution
Endless Boogie - Vibe Killer
Junior Kimbrough & Daft Punk - I Gotta Try You Girl
Parliament - Mothership Connection
Tenderlonious & 22A Arkestra - SV Disco
Ill Considered - Long Way Home
Wildflower - Where The Earth Meets The Sky
DOM Alia Orchestra - Vivaro - Omaggio A John Coltrane
Michael Stuart - Dedication
Listen again (streaming link): 

Restless Funk 08/11/18

Restless Funk is an award winning radio show broadcast LIVE from 10pm-12am BST every Thursday evening on 97.2FM and www.camfm.co.uk

Monday, 5 November 2018


After "Family Planning", my favorite Bylaw tune done live, right here:

This one is just so joyful, you can't help but smile and Donny becomes your new hero (you had me at flaming saxophanist...). Came out last year on a limited Australia-only 7"

You can't beat the Steve Monite original version (though a grand for the album is a touch steep). Frank Ocean did a great job live at Coachella last year, but here Theophilus London and Tame Impala have a pretty good crack at it.

Saturday, 3 November 2018

Comfortably Numb

Special thanks to those who came out to the Pint Shop last night for a chilly Friday night session, and a special shout out to the security getting down to the "mad didgeridoo n drums thing" (their words!). Here's the rest:

Ras Enoch - Young & Foolish
Lorna Bennett & The Revolutionares - It’s My House
Tenor Saw - Victory Train
Delroy Wilson - Get Ready
The Congos - Congo Man (Carl Craig Remix)
Incognito - Out Of The Storm (C's Planet E Special Mix)
Herbie Hancock - Stars In Their Eyes
Larry Heard - Stars
House of House - The Rough Half (Don’t Stop)
OPM - In and Out of Love
Joe - Tail Lift
Fela Kuti - Egbe Mi O
Fela Kuti - Who’re You? Pt.1
Chihuahua All Stars - La Parejita
Instant House - Awade (Stripped Down Chimes Version)
Ace 'Smoking' Amy - High Noon
Four Tet - Question
Ron Everrett - Glitter of the City
Nora Guthrie - Emily’s Illness
James Yorkson - Woozy With Cider
Iku Sakan - Intermolecular
Terre Thaemlitz - Raw Through A Straw
Mark Ernestus Pres Jeri Jeri - Bamba Version
Ill Considered - Live @ TRC
Mildlife - The Magnificent Moon
Rocha - Night Music
Don Cherry - Brown Rice
Joel Graham - Night
Arthur Russell - My Tiger, My Timing
Arthur’s Landing - Is It All Over My Face (12” Mix Pt 1)
Dazzle - Another Lover
ZSOU - Admiral Byrd
Beautiful Ballet - Energy (Rudy’s Mix)
Steve Reich - 2x5 (Movement 3 Fast) (Vakula Mix)
Ponzu Island - Super Koto
Ace & The Sandman - Let Your Body Talk
Quiet Village - Social Music
Dissidenten - Bajka’s Gnaoui
Sarah Webster Fabio - Sweet Songs
Thomas, De La Cruz & Lee - No Hassle From The Man (Instrumental Mix)
Space Farm - The Dawn of Birds
Maria Marquez - Canto Del Pilon
Cascada - Come Back To Me Baby
Rhythm & Sound - Music A Fe Rule Pt 1

Friday, 2 November 2018

Pinch, punch

The Restless Funk Radio Show 01/11/2018
Talking Heads - Naieve Melody
Maxx Mann - Bloody & Blue
Helen Rogers - Candidate For Love Version (Extended Dub Mix)
Moodymann - The Thief That Stole My Sad Days... Ya Blessin Me
Moodymann - Joy Pt 2
Fela Kuti - Who're You Pt 1
Afro Super Feelings led by Segun Okeji - Afro Super Feelings In Disco
Gatanga Young Star - Kuui
L'och. Central International - In Juok Piny O. O.
Kawere 'B' Kings Band - Harambee Ma Thurwa
Mansion - Devil Woman
The Wings - I've Been Loving You
Sonny Okosuns - Help
Sun Ra - Blackman
Sun Ra - My Brother The Wind
Sun Ra - Third Heaven/When There Is No Sun
Sun Ra - Discipline 27-11
Sun Ra - Ra To The Rescue 1
Listen again (streaming link): 

Restless Funk 01/11/18

Restless Funk is an award winning radio show broadcast LIVE from 10pm-12am BST every Thursday evening on 97.2FM and www.camfm.co.uk

Friday, 26 October 2018


The Restless Funk Radio Show 25/10/2018
Thomas de Pourquery Supersonic - Enlightenment
Roots Radics - Pice Dub
Bim Sherman - Hang on
Sound Voyage - Wong Futura
The Thai Orchestra - Untitled
Theo Parrish - Theo Parrish Meets Mancingelani
Orch. Mori Ongo Chuoi - S. Nyadhi Anyango
Cisse Abdoulaye - Aw' Ye Douba Ke
Chi Huahua All Stars - La Parejita
Ron Everett - Glitter of the City
Deodato - Super Strut
Jerome Sydenham & Kerri Chandler - Winter's Blessing (Deluxe)
Family Underground - For The Love Of Disco
Benjamin Bell - Flash A Flashlight (Instrumental)
Dept of Sunshine - Rude Boys
Tony Cook - On The Floor (Rock It)
Liquid Liquid - Push (Live)
Lifetones - Decide
Chugga - Interstellar Speedskate
DJ Grillo Wiener - Disco Ire
Man Friday - Love Honey Love Heartache (Victor's Tribute Mix)
Listen again (streaming link): 

Restless Funk 25/10/18

Restless Funk is an award winning radio show broadcast LIVE from 10pm-12am BST every Thursday evening on 97.2FM and www.camfm.co.uk